A Bowl of Cherries

A few days ago, a friend of mine asked me why I was so lucky.  Cue laughter.  Lucky?!  The last time I checked, I did not win the lottery.  That would be so completely awesome but not likely to happen.  Upon further explanation, however, she thought I was lucky because everything seemed to go my way all the time.  That statement was almost as funny as me winning the lottery because I can certainly beg to differ.  After thinking about it though, it does appear that everything is always ‘coming up Milhouse’ in my life.

I think this charmed appearance is attributable to a few other things, rather than luck.  Risking sounding like an Oprah’s Lifeclass, I thought I would share some of the things that I use to just float on.  Coping mechanisms? Maybe….but they work.

  1. Optimism.

I ALWAYS expect a favourable outcome.  It may not be the outcome I was expecting, but there is always something favourable that I can work with.  Opportunities exist everywhere.

  1. Positivity.

Why am I being told that is not a word?  I’m sure a chemist or physicist would argue that one?!  Anyway, back to the topic at hand…I cannot stand negativity.  What is the purpose of constantly singling out what is wrong with something?  It not only brings you down but everyone around you that has to hear that crap.

  1. Resourcefulness.

This one is tied to both #1 and #2.  Work with what you have.  Expect a favourable outcome but if your expectation does not happen as planned, work with what you have.  Things can always be worse so focus on the positive and do what needs to be done to succeed.  I find this one applies to everything – writing a blog, working with fondant, plastering walls, stalking celebrities (maybe I will tell you about this one someday!)

Ultimately, I contribute this resiliency to my family and upbringing.  My parents and grandparents always reminded me that I could do anything that I put my mind to.  I believed them because they not only just told me that, they practiced what they preached.  Both my parents (and my grandmother) went back to school as adults and completed their education. They moved.  They traveled.  While they may not have had the best upbringing due to the residual effects of colonialism, they never let fear and doubt stop them from trying new things.  Learning new things.  Mastering new things.

With that said, the last thing that I always ensure I do is:

  1. Express gratitude.

Every night before bed I marvel at how good things really are.  I have a wonderful husband, son, family, house, job, friends, pets, neighbours….and the list goes on and on.  I am more than thankful.

So that is why my life often looks like a bowl of cherries when in fact it is often just a leftover bowl of half eaten cherries mixed with pits.  It is all just a matter of perspective.  My best advice is to never wallow.  Throw a mini pity party (maybe with a little ice cream) and move on.  Take a chance.  Do what you always aspired to do.  Believe me – if I can do it, so can you.

Baamaapii.

Leave a Reply

