No rest for the wicked….

…. or in my case the semi-obsessive compulsive that cannot sit still.

Today I got a lecture from Fuzz about slowing down and taking things easy.  I had cold symptoms all week (head ache, sore throat, burny chest) but it never quite developed into the full-blown cold that our kid, Whirlwind, just got over.

What did I do?  Well, I just kept going like the Energizer Bunny.  I still got up at 6:30 in the morning even though Fuzz has been home with Whirlwind.  I washed our couch covers.  I walked the dogs.  I went grocery shopping…twice.  I made PB and J cupcakes to accompany our Roast Beef Mango Chutney sandwiches.  I took Whirlwind to see Chimpanzee and Thomas the Train at the mall the next day.  I washed the baseboards on my main floor.  I preserved art projects with semi-gloss shellac.  I bundled cut tree limbs for compost.

Seriously.  It’s like I am physically incapable of sitting still.  The only time I sit still is when I am working my day job.  You know – the one I get paid for.  It’s just my physical respite as my brain is still churning, my ears are listening to meetings on speakerphones and my fingers are typing furiously.  Note: This is when I get the lecture that I should at least take a break to get up to eat and drink (will I ever win?!)

As for the brewing cold, I naively hoped that it would just have those muted symptoms that would eventually disappear.

WRONG.  DEAD WRONG.

As the day wore on today, my nose started leaking.  My chest burned like a molten field of lava.  My cough is now hacky and hoarse.  I sometimes get a stabbing pain in my left ear that is surprising not caused by Fuzz sounding like Charlie Brown’s teacher.  Awesome…not!

I think it is finally time to rest.  It’s a good thing I bought paint for the nursery at lunch and re-potted my houseplants after work 😉

Baamaapii.

Leave a Reply

