All my words come back to me in shades of mediocrity.

So I realized something so incredibly geeky about myself today.  I know I’ve always registered quite high on the geekiness scale, but this realization may just rate me somewhere between Matthew Gray Gubler and Wil Wheaton.  Which, to me, isn’t such a bad thing because I cannot think of anything better than being sandwiched between the two of them.

Okay, so are you ready for it?  It occurred to me today that I can relate anything to a Simon and Garfunkel lyric.  Sad….but true.  In fact, the title of this post is a Simon and Garfunkel lyric and if you look back to one of the titles of the past posts, you will find yet another Simon and Garfunkel lyric.  I simply cannot help myself.  The lyrics seem to be one of the first things that pop in my head when searching for a title.  Sure, it may be four decades late in the “cool” department but isn’t Mad Men also helping to bring back the 60s?

The realization came today after I took an Instagram photo of my constant companion – the logo on the Starbucks cup.  You can usually find it glued to my hand.  What was the first thing that came to my mind when writing a caption?  “Hello Siren, my old friend.”  I know.  I might as well just put a flashing “GEEK” sign on my forehead.  Remarkably, my equally geeky cousin joined in the fun with the most appropriate response “I’ve come to slurp with you again.”  That there just made my day….and now I am counting down the days that she will be visiting my neck of the woods again.  We have a night of dress-up Catan planned.

I better go and plan my costume……any suggestions?  Maybe I will play some Simon and Garfunkel for inspiration.

Baamaapii.

Leave a Reply

