My Celebrity Playlist

We had a wicked thunderstorm here today. The rain poured down in sheets. The winds that brought the storm so quickly also treated us to beautiful Northern Ontario-like weather. Sunny with a breeze that had just enough force to keep you cool. If I close my eyes, the sound of the rustling leaves brings me back to the rez on a summer evening. Almost heaven.

After spending some time outside, I needed to tackle some house cleaning. I opened all the windows, turned up the music and happily mopped along. As I was cleaning I thought that I was due to write a happy, upbeat blog. Everything has been so pointedly opinionated lately and I needed some fun. Perhaps it was because iTunes shuffle was in my favour tonight (i.e. requiring very little skipping to the next song) that inspiration struck to write my own celebrity play list. Hey, you never know when it may be needed. I am set to become that famous APTN star after all.

So here you have it. My list of songs that will never be skipped to the next song…in fact, I would just reach over and turn up the volume and sing along.

Miranda’s Playlist

Various ArtistsImage

Released June 12, 2012

Black – Pearl Jam

This song will always be my number one favourite song. Eddie Vedder has always been my celebrity crush and his voice is particularly anguished in this song. I’ve always known that I would be the sun in someone else’s sky. Never settle for less.

Wheat Kings – The Tragically Hip

No playlist is ever complete without a song by the Hip. The loon calls and lyrics get me every time. Who doesn’t want to be in the Paris of the prairies?

Sunday Mornings – Maroon 5

Adam Levine’s voice sounds like a rainy Sunday morning.

The Wind – Cat Stevens

My son was named after this song “I listen to the wind the wind of my soul”

Karma Police – Radiohead

Be careful, or the karma police will get you.

I Will Follow You into the Dark – Death Cab for Cutie

This was the first song that Fuzz and I danced to at our wedding. Some may say it’s morbid but the lyrics speak to our relationship.

Blackbird – The Beatles

This is my son’s lullaby. I’ve sung this to him since he was a wee baby. Paul wrote the song in response to the American civil rights movement. I guess it gives me hope that the Native people of Canada will someday have their own movement and my son may be a part of that.

Somebody that Used to Know – Gotye

It is not often that I really enjoy a new song but this one is so fun to sing along to.

The Scientist – Coldplay

Such anguish.

Bonjour, Paris – Audrey Hepburn, Fred Astaire and Kay Thompson

This song is from Funny Face, one of my favourite Audrey films. I sang this song as I happily skipped down the Avenue des Champs-Elysee when Fuzz and I were in Paris. Perhaps it was that level of geekiness that convinced Fuzz to propose later that week in the Jardin du Tracadero.

Comin’ Home – City and Colour

I LOVE Dallas Green. There is just something about neck tattoos.

Don’t Go Away – Oasis

Reminds me of my high school trip to England. I was convinced that I was going to casually run into Liam Gallagher, run away, get married and have British babies.

Fix You – Coldplay

“If you never try, you will never know just what you are worth” is one of my life mottos.

Your Love – The Outfield

Best. 80s. Song. Ever.

Float On – Modest Mouse

“Even if things end up a bit too heavy, we will all float on okay” is another life motto.

Wish You Were Here – Incubus

“In this moment, I am happy”

Just Breathe – Pearl Jam

I just love to hear the softer side of my dear Eddie.

Old Apartment – Barenaked Ladies

There is just something about Stephen Page’s voice and this song conjures memories of past lives.

Swan Lake, Ballet Suite, Op.20: Scene (Lake in the Moonlight) – Tchaikovsky

I just love how the song builds and builds in strength.

America – Simon and Garfunkel

I think that it is well known that I love Simon and Garfunkel. My brother and I were probably the only young kids in a 100 mile radius (and that’s being modest) that knew all the lyrics to Simon and Garfunkel’s greatest hits. Blame my parents.

The Pretender – Foo Fighters

This is my absolute favourite song to run to – great beat and motivational lyrics. I cannot wait to strap on my running shoes after this baby makes an appearance.

Santeria – Sublime

Two words: high school.

You Don’t Know Me – Ben Folds Featuring Regina Spektor

They make an unhappy relationship sound so happy. This song also gets Fuzz singing along with me as well.

Something – The Beatles

No playlist would ever be complete without a song by my favourite Beatle, George. While George denied that song was about Patty Boyd, I like to think that a woman is capable to inspire songs by both George Harrison and Eric Clapton.

So what song is your number one song of all time? Or for the more ambitious, what would be on your celebrity playlist?

Baamaapii.

Leave a Reply

