The Seinfeld Post

I know, I know – I’ve been missing in action for a while now.  I haven’t joined the circus or dropped off the face of the earth.  I was using holiday time before beginning maternity leave.  Essentially, I have been nesting for the last three weeks.

I started a few draft blogs but I never finished or published any.  I think with my nesting state of mind, I haven’t been in the mood for the political and opinionated topics that I was writing about:  access to health care, AFN elections and Justin Bieber getting free gas in Canada for being Inuit (!)  Don’t even get me started on that last one – it’s just laughable.

“I’m actually part Indian, I think Inuit or something? I’m enough percent that in Canada I can get free gas” – Justin Bieber

So when thinking about touching base with my readers, I decided to just write a Seinfeld post.  A blog post about nothing, as the show was about nothing…nothing but the minutiae of every day life.  This is what my life consisted of the last three weeks:

–       I went to the fabric store to buy fleece to make a no-sew knotted blanket.  However, as a type-A, over-achieving, obsessive-compulsive decorator, I came home with white and teal chenille fabric with yellow blanket trim with matching thread.  I had to haul out the sewing machine but the bright side is that I can breather easier now that I know that the baby’s blanket matches the décor.

–       I cleaned and organized my linen closet.  I had no idea that I had accumulated so many sheets and towels from other people..  Some of it was even in tatters.  You see, I have a mother-in-law (and grandmother-in-law) that give me these things just in case I ever need towels for swimming or cleaning.  Why do I take them?  You could probably answer that better than I could.  I did end up with a pile of things for Goodwill but most ended up in the too tattered to go anywhere but the garbage pile.

–       I started cleaning the kitchen cupboards.  This chore was a necessity though.  I found a bag of small potatoes literally taking up root in there.  It was like a science experiment gone awry.  I still have to finish this up though because I’m pretty sure I don’t need those little tiny Paris toasts from 2009 and a tetrapak of summer squash soup.  I don’t even really like squash.

–       I made two sets of curtains.  A teal and white set for the nursery and a dinosaur print set for Whirlwind’s room.  The nursery set was kind of a cheater though because I used twin sheet sets from Ikea.  The dinosaur set was not so much because I had to splice two types of fabric together.  Whirlwind chose a horizontal printed fabric that was not quite long enough for his window.

–       I’ve been watching a lot of my new favourite show:  The Chew.  I love Clinton Kelly and have a newfound crush on Chef Michael Symon.  Who doesn’t love a gregarious laugh?  I have also been trying out a lot of recipes from the show.  We’ve had chipotle yogurt chicken, peanut butter and jelly cupcakes and watermelon and feta salad.  The watermelon salad is divine.

–       I attended my very first star-studded wedding.  Although, I don’t know hockey enough to tell you who were the actual NHL players were.  Regardless, the wedding was beautiful and it was exactly how I would have done it, if Fuzz and I didn’t have a destination wedding.  Fuzz and I could probably never match up to the bride and groom of this wedding because they are two of most genuine people that I have ever met.  Truly golden.

I’m still on the go but I do not know for how much longer.  My due date is exactly in one week.  I’m hoping the little lady makes her appearance this week because I can barely turn over in bed.  I’m going to rent a forklift soon.

Baamaapii. 

Leave a Reply

