The Wedding Singer(s)

A friend of mine is getting married.  She is having a hard time choosing music – and rightly so; it is a huge decision to make.  Music is linked to memory and the chosen songs will always bring you back to that day.  I still have my wedding playlist saved to my phone (appropriately named Wedding Soundtrack…creative, huh?).  Here it is:

 

Canon in D – Johann Pachelbel

Guests were seated near the outdoor wedding pavilion on the Gran Bahia Principe Bahia resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.

Sea of Love – Cat Power

My Dad walked me down the aisle.

Here Comes the Sun – The Beatles

Fuzz and I walked together back down the aisle to my favourite band – married!

I Will Follow You Into the Dark – Death Cab for Cutie

We danced our first dance as a married couple.

My Little Girl – Tim McGraw

I danced with my Daddy.  This song always still brings a tear to my eye.

God Only Knows – The Beach Boys

Fuzz danced with his Mom.

Footloose – Kenny Loggins

Our wedding party danced to this song.  I think the sprinkler, q-tip, and lawn mower dance moves were pulled out …not to mention the classic dance moves made famous by Chris Penn in the movie.

You’re My Best Friend – Queen

I had two men in my wedding party – my brother and my GBFF.  I danced with my GBFF (my man of honour) to this song.

Stand by Me – Ben E. King

I danced with my brother (my best man).  Stand by Me was our favourite movie when we were kids.  We can still recite the movie word for word – “Chopper sic balls”

White Wedding – Billy Idol

I danced with my Dad to this song…on a chair.  My Dad has a penchant for taking his shirt off while dancing to Billy Idol (don’t ask).  Particularly to Rebel Yell but this song fit the occasion. 

Loving, Touching, Squeezing – Journey

Fuzz removed the garter and tossed it to this song.  Besides, no wedding of mine would be complete without a song from my second favourite band.

Single Ladies – Beyonce

I tossed the bouquet.  This song is probably the standard for this part of any wedding now.

Stolen – Dashboard Confessional

This was our last dance of the night.  We all “look like we feel”.

 

What was (or will be) the song for your first dance?

Baamaapii.

Leave a Reply

